Kumiko Omura is a Japanese composer in the field of the contemporary music. She writes for both of instruments and electronic sound.

She studied :

composition at the Tokyo University of Fine Arts and Music with Kenjiro Urata, Isao Matsushita and Jo Kondo.

compostion at the Folkwang-Hochschule Essen in Germany with Prof. Nicolaus A. Huber and electronic music with Ludger Bruemmer

She received the Masters degree on Intermedia Art by Kiyoshi Furukawa at the Tokyo University of Fine Arts and Music.

participated in

the Darmstadt International Summer Course for NewMusic, the composition course at the Fondation Rayaumont and annual composition course at Ircam, Paris.


In 2006-2010, she worked as resident artist at ZKM in Germany, where her portrait concert took place in March 2009.

Omura received prizes :

the Irino Prize for Orchestra (1994 Japan), the Gaudeamus International Composers Award (1998 Holland), prize at the Hannover Biennale (1999 Germany), the young artist prize at the Nordrhein-Westfalen (2000 Germany), ACL Yoshiro Irino International Composition Prize (2000 Japan), Takefu composition prize (2004 Japan), Giga-Hertz-Award Encouragement Prize by Experimentalstudio SWR and ZKM (2012 Germany).

Her pieces were selected :

Akiyoshidai International 20 Century Musik and Festival (1993, Japan), 1.Nachwuchsforum by Ensemble Modern (1996, Germany), ICMC (2000, Germany), Asian Music Festival (2000, 2002 Japan), Nuova Consonanza (2012, Italy)

Her music has been performed in Europe, America, Korea, Taipei and Japan

at Festivals :

Akiyoshidai International 20 Century Musik and Festival (Japan, 1993), rendez-vous musique nouvelle (France, 1997), Gaudeamus Music Week (in the Netherland, 1998, 1999, 2000), Hannover Biennale (Germany, 1999), International Computer Music Conference (Germany, 2000), Asien Festival (Japan, 2000, 2002), Bludenzer Tage zeitgemaesser Musik(Austria, 2000), Wittener Tage fuer neue Kammermusik (2002, Germany) , Festival Agora (France, 2002, 2003), Centre Festival Acanthes (France, 2004), Takefu International Music Festival (Japan, 2004, 2006, 2009), musica viva (Germany,2006) , ZKM Piano+ (Germany, 2009), Music from Japan (USA, 2009)

by Orchester /Ensembles :

Ensemble Modern, ensemble recherche, Musikfabrik NRW, Ensemble Resonanz, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Ensemble Aventure (Germany), Nieuw Ensemble(in the Netherland), Ensemble Ictus (Belgium), Icarus Ensemble (Italy), Chamber Ensemble ZAGROS (Finland), New Japan Philharmonic, Ensemble Nomado, Tokyo Sinfonietta, Art Respirant, Ensemble Contemporary α (Japan)

by Musicians :

Johannes Kalitzke, Vinko Globokar, Casper de Roo, Yutaka Sado, Toshio Hosokawa (Cond), Harry Sparnaay(Bcl), Camilla Hoitenga (Fl),Alexis Descharmes, Francesco Dillon (Vc), Catherine Vickers (Pf), Takashi Saito, Jérôme Laran, Pedro Bittencourt, Brian Sacawa, Eliot Gattenyo, Christoph Kirschke (Sax)

Duo: Patricia Kopatchinskaja (Vn)-Hiroaki Ooi (Pf), Piet van Bockstal (Ob)-Yutaka Oya(Pf), Tosiya Suzuki (Rec)-Garth Knox (Vla)

Her works were broadcasted :

In Germany at Hessischer Rundfunk, Saarlaendischer Rundfunk, Bayerischer Rundfunk and WDR, in the Netherlands at Radio Monalisa, and NHK in Japan

was composed by collaboration with :

Brian O'Reilly (video), Anne-Sarah Le Meur ( real time 3D image) and musicians of Japanese traditional music such as Mojibei Tokiwazu (shamisen), Miyata Mayuki (Sho), Nanae Yoshimura(Koto) and Ryoko Aoki (Noh Theater).

She worked with scholarships and residences :

Akademie der Künste Berlin (Germany, 1997), Kustlerinenhaus Hoege (Germany, 2001), scholarship of Agencz for Cultural Affairs (2006-7), Kunstlerhaus Schreyahn (Germany, 2009)



English biography_2011-short

German biography_2011-short

French biography_1999